Victoria and Albert Museum

The world’s greatest museum of art and design

Opening times

10.00 to 17.45 daily
10.00 to 22.00 Fridays

The Seven Deadly Sins

The Seven Deadly Sins

The Seven Deadly Sins model was created in response to a college assignment: To illustrate The Seven Deadly Sins using 3d techniques. My idea began with the Peacock, as this bird already has an association with 'Pride', so began my research into other birds that I could use to represent the other Sins. I came up with: the Budgie, locked in his cage, in Envy of the other free birds, the Magpie, represents Greed with his love and desire of all things shiny, the Crow is the epitome of evil and fear and has long been associated to these roles in horror movies, and so represents Anger, the Cuckoo is a brood parasite, laying their eggs in the nests of others and so represents Sloth, the Seagull represents Gluttony simply from his desire to consume anything he can lay his beak on, and lastly, the Bird of Paradise represents Lust which derives from his polygamus nature and his lusty dancing to attract a mate.

The Seven Deadly Sins 3d model using origami birds
Seagull origami bird representing  the Gluttony Sin
Budgie origami bird representing the Envy Sin