Victoria and Albert Museum

The world’s greatest museum of art and design

Opening times

10.00 to 17.45 daily
10.00 to 22.00 Fridays

Alms for Oblivion Series

Alms for Oblivion Series

Alms for Oblivion by Simon Raven is a series of 10 novels, all telling separate stories but at the same time linked together by the characters they have in common: schoolboys and businessmen, writers and soldiers, prostitutes and patient wives, actresses and models.

For the covers, we needed an illustrator whose work was both dangerous and sexual in its appearance to suit the subject matter. Andrew Archer suited this perfectly, and we decided upon a grid system across the series that would tie the covers together. Each panel represents one of the short stories to be found, portraying the contrasting characters within the novels.

Alms for Oblivion - Vol I
Alms for Oblivion - Vol II
Alms for Oblivion - Vol III