Matthew, Mark, Luke and John are the writers of the Gospels, the first four books of the New Testament that tell the events of Christ's life, death and Resurrection. Each has his own symbol. For example, St Matthew begins his account with the ancestry of Christ and focuses on his human nature and kindness. His symbol is, therefore, a winged man or angel. The four saints or their symbols are often grouped together, for example, around a cross. The saints may also be shown holding books or scrolls, to represent the four Gospels.