By the 1870s Kensington was almost fully developed, apart from the area immediately around the Albert Hall. Lowther Lodge was originally planned as a generously proportioned town house for William Lowther MP. It was conceived as a country mansion and, unusually for a central London house, it is set back behind an entrance court on the Hyde Park front. The asymmetrical façade features very tall chimneys, slim ‘Queen Anne’ windows and Dutch pilasters and gables, to picturesque effect. Since 1911 Lowther Lodge has been the headquarters of the Royal Geographical Society. In 1929 Kennedy & Nightingale enlarged the building westwards to create a lecture theatre on the site of the stable block. The statues of the explorers Shackleton and Livingstone, by C. Sargent Jagger, were placed on the corner of Exhibition Road and Kensington Gore in 1932.