VAM Logo - link to V&A website



Exhibition

 

Events

 
  Publications
   
  Permanent
Collection
   
  Visiting
   
  Links
  10
 

PROGRAMME OF EVENTS

FREE EVENTS

A programme of events for the family, fashion followers and true enthusiasts complements the exhibition. Bookings are not required.

Tiara Ball Friday Late View
Friday 29 March 18.30 – 22.00. Entry via Cromwell Road.
  An evening of glitter and glamour. Watch some of the best ballroom dancers float across the dance floor followed by a master class for budding twinkle toes, make your own tiara with up and coming jewellery designers and watch screenings of classic tiara moments captured on film. Enjoy cocktails, champagne and the stylish sounds of Private Tango on the decks. Free entry to the Tiaras exhibition between 18.30 and 21.00 for those wearing a Tiara!
Gemstones
Saturday 30 and Sunday 31 March
14.00-17.00. Gallery 25
Irena Maria Varey demonstrates the properties of some of the precious stones which are used in tiaras, talks about their sources and lets you examine and test some similar stones for yourself.
 
   
Pinpointing the collection - A ball gown by Worth, 1900
Wednesday 17 April
18.45-19.10. Dress Court. Meet in the Cromwell Road entrance
 
   
Tales and Tiaras
Saturday 1 to Tuesday 4 June
11.00-13.00 and 14.00-16.00. Sculpture Gallery
Celebrate the Queen’s Jubilee and see performance artists in specially designed Jubilee costumes. Create your own family jewels with Dean Blunkell.
 
   
Pinpointing the collection - ‘Full’ evening dress of the 1790s
Wednesday 5 June
18.45-19.10. Dress Court. Meet in the Cromwell Road entrance
 
   
Fit for a King
Wednesday 5 to Friday 7 June
11.00-13.00 and 14.00-16.00
Transform yourself into royalty for a day by making a magnificent crown with Al Johnson.
 

Tiara Making
Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 June
14.00-17.00. Gallery 23
Join Malcolm Morris as he demonstrates the techniques used in the creation of tiaras. You can see a tiara Malcolm made for the film Shakespeare in Love in the exhibition.

Tiaras and Head Adornment
Saturday 29 and Sunday 30 June
Dress Court
Milliner Caroline Morris shows her unique handmade headwear which has featured in international magazines such as Italian Vogue.

Tiaras Slide Talk
Tuesday 2 July 13.00
Lecture Theatre
Tiaras Curator Geoffrey Munn, Managing Director of Wartski Ltd, jewellers by Appointment, jewellery specialist on the BBC Antiques Roadshow, and author of Tiaras: Past and Present, traces the history of the tiara. FREE

GALLERY TALKS

13.00 on days indicated. Bookings are not required. Meet in the Cromwell Road entrance hall.

Dress and Textiles 1900-1939. Nancy Osborn
Saturday 30 March
  The Role and Depiction of Victorian Women. Vicky Mills
Monday 15 April and Saturday 4 May
     
19th-century Evening Dress. Frances Musker
Friday 3 May
  20th-century Evening Dress. Frances Musker
Friday 10 May
     
Gold and Goldsmiths. Diana Perry Aldrich
Monday 3 June
  Royalty and the V&A. Rebecca Merry
Tuesday 4 June
     
19th- and 20th-century Millinery. Marie Louise Lowcock
Saturday 15 June
  Neo-classical and Empire Jewellery. Miranda Neave
Thursday 20 and Friday 21 June

LECTURES AND EDUCATIONAL EVENTS

Advance bookings are essential. Call the V&A Box Office on 020 7942 2209.

Slide Lectures by Exhibition Curator, Geoffrey Munn
Wednesday 3 April 19.15
Lecture Theatre
Cost: £8 full admission. £5 concessions (V&A Friends and full-time students)

Educators Evening
Monday 29 April 18.30
A private view of the exhibition for Educators.
Cost: Free. Tickets are required.

Advance bookings available
call 0115 912 9184
or book online -
Click Here