We have launched a new website and are reviewing this page. Find out more

Speculative Fiction 2013

Speculative Fiction 2013

Cover design for 'Speculative Fiction 2013' from Jurassic London.

Speculative Fiction 2013 collects and celebrates the best non-fiction online – the top book reviews, essay and commentary of the year.

What’s wrong with “strong” female characters?
What can we do to fix the Hugo awards?
What determines a dystopian society’s dress code?
Can a video game affirm our humanity?

The Internet has the answers. The latest volume in the award-winning Speculative Fiction series collects over fifty pieces from all corners of genre fandom – from book criticism to incisive commentary on important issues like sexual harassment at conventions; from feminist themes in summer blockbusters to life-changing video games; from the merits of grittiness to the downfalls of grimdark.

Contributors include: Abigail Nussbaum, Aidan Moher, Alasdair Czyrnyj, Aliette de Bodard, Alyssa Franke, Amal El-Mohtar, Ana Silva, Ann Leckie, Annalee Newitz, Bodhisattva Chattopadhyay, Carrie Sessarego, Chaila, Chiusse, Chris Gerwel, Diane Dooley, E.M. Kokie, Emily Asher-Perrin, Erin Hoffman, Foz Meadows, Gavia Baker-Whitelaw, Jemmy, Jenny Kristine, Jim C. Hines, Joe Abercrombie, Jonathan McCalmont, Kameron Hurley, Karyn Silverman, Kate Elliott, Leow Hui Min Annabeth, Liz Bourke, Mahvesh Murad, Matt Hilliard, Miguel Rodriguez, N.K. Jemisin, Natalie Luhrs, Niall Alexander, Nina Allan, Orem Chiel, Paul (Sparky), Phoebe North, Renay, Robert Berg, Sam Keeper, Sayantani DasGupta, Shaun Duke, Sophia McDougall, Stefan Raets and Tansy Rayner Roberts.