Workshops On now until Friday, 16 July 2021

V&A Virtual Classroom: Primary - Summer 2021

Connect your class via Zoom to the V&A through live interactive sessions delivered by museum experts to bring museum objects and their stories to life virtually. Choose from two session topics: V&A Voyage or Pattern and Maths

+44 (0)20 7942 2000
  • Wednesday, 19 May 2021
    Friday, 21 May 2021
    Wednesday, 26 May 2021
    Friday, 28 May 2021
    Wednesday, 9 June 2021
    Friday, 11 June 2021
    Wednesday, 16 June 2021
    Friday, 18 June 2021
    Wednesday, 23 June 2021
    Friday, 25 June 2021
    Wednesday, 30 June 2021
    Friday, 2 July 2021
    Wednesday, 7 July 2021
    Friday, 9 July 2021
    Wednesday, 14 July 2021
    Friday, 16 July 2021

  • Online, V&A South Kensington

  • Free event

    Online

Sold out

Available: Selected Wednesdays and Fridays until 16 July 2021 
Timing: 50 minutes beginning at 10.30 and 13.30 
Location: Online, Zoom
Cost: FREE  
Capacity: 1 class per session (maximum 32 students) 

V&A Voyage (KS1 & 2):

Be transported around the world, and explore incredible stories behind V&A objects.  

Hear the story of  Tipu’s Tiger, learn about the symbolism of the Chinese dragon, discover a Persian picnic tile panel and journey to Japan to see Samurai armour. The session facilitator will create an immersive and interactive experience through music, objects and storytelling. 

National Curriculum Links:  

-Art & Design 

-Literacy 

-D&T   

Pattern & Maths (KS2):

Discover incredible patterns from around the world. Find out how the designs of the Islamic Middle East inspired William Morris. Investigate repetition, symmetry and tessellation and spot different pattern types throughout museum objects and your own classroom!

National Curriculum Links:

-Art & Design

-Maths

-History

-D&T

Following an automated booking confirmation, you will receive an email from the Schools Team with your unique joining link and further information. Please book with your school email. We do not accept bookings from third party providers. Due to the current situation Virtual Classroom sessions are only open to UK schools. International schools can sign up to our e -newsletter for more information on upcoming programmes.

As we have a limited number of sessions and would like to give as many schools an opportunity to engage in our virtual programme, we request that you book a maximum of two sessions per term. There will be a cancellation fee of £50 per session cancelled within two weeks of the session date.

Background image: 'Man's Banyan and waistcoat Banyan and waistcoat made from a Chinese dragon robe, Unknown, Silk, cotton, silk thread, China Italy 1780-1810. Museum No. T.77:1, 2-2009 (c)Victoria & Albert Museum