Renovation of Fashion Galleries, Room 40, 2012
The V&A has recently undertaken a major renovation of Room 40, which currently houses the Museum's fashion collection. Opened in 1909 as part of Aston Webb's expansion of the Museum, the gallery was first known as the Octagon Court. It was designed as a spacious domed court with large alcoves, architectural columns, mosaic flooring, and glazed roofing that provided natural light throughout the gallery. It had an upper gallery added in 1962 and the lower space was turned into a space for the display of fashion, which remains its purpose.
The refurbishments reveal the historic features of the gallery with a new lighting scheme and the renovation of the gallery's mosaic flooring. A large part of the Fashion collection is always available to view online at Search the Collections. There are also examples of British fashion to be seen in the British Galleries at the V&A. The renovation has enabled the space to showcase both temporary exhibitions and permanent collection pieces.
This development was completed as part of FuturePlan
FuturePlan is transforming the V&A by revitalising visitor facilities and redisplaying the collections. Using the best architects and designers, we are bringing the V&A into the 21st century and restoring modern design and innovation to the heart of the museum.