V&A Illustration Awards

The V&A Illustration Awards is the UK’s most prestigious annual illustration competition recognising the very best in book, editorial and student illustration. The competition has been running since 1972 and its previous winners are a veritable Who’s Who? of British illustration including household names like Ralph Steadman, Posy Simmonds, Sara Fanelli, Quentin Blake, Laura Carlin, Matthew Richardson, Helen Musselwhite and Yasmeen Ismail.

2016 Book Cover Design Award and Moira Gemmill Illustrator of the Year, David McConochie, cover for The Folio Book of Ghost Stories, published by The Folio Society, London, 2015

Entry to the 2017 competition is now open

The competition is organised by the V&A’s National Art Library and is FREE to enter for illustrators publishing within the UK market or attending an illustration course in the UK.

Published categories

  • Book Cover Design
  • Book Illustration
  • Editorial Illustration (newspapers and magazines)

The winner in each category receives £3,000 and a trophy. The judges will also select an overall winner to receive the 2017 Moira Gemmill Illustrator of the year prize and an additional £5,000. Winners may also be commissioned to produce publicity artwork for the Museum.

Student category

The winner of the Student Illustrator of the Year Prize receives £3,000 and a trophy. The Student Runner-Up receives £2,000 and a trophy.

The closing date is Thursday 15 December 2016 at 17.00.

Winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony in May 2017. The winning work will be displayed at the V&A in May 2017. Winners must be prepared to lend some or all of their original artwork for the display.

Each year, the winning books are added to the holdings of the National Art Library and may be read in the Library’s Reading Rooms in the V&A.

Villa winners
Left to right: Jason Brooks, London Sketchbook, published by Laurence King, London, 2015; Kate Milner, 'My Name is not Refugee', Anglia Ruskin - Cambridge School of Art; Bill Bragg, illustrations for ‘But Today I am Afraid’ by Masuma Rahim, published In The Guardian, 1 December, 2015; Joan Alturo, 'Morts et Vita', Arts University Bournemouth

Find out more on the V&A Illustration Awards blog and explore our Illustration collections.

Contact: villa@vam.ac.uk

Supported by the Enid Linder Foundation

Back to the top